CinDes Embroidery Designs title banner 

Google
 
                                                  

 

Facebook Logo Image

 

 

Pinterest Logo Image

 

 

Sgrouples Logo Image 

 

 

a b o u t   c i n d e s

***

Once upon a time
in a land far, far away...


A land called Chicago Illinois in a BIG country called America,
there lived a girl named Cindy...

Ok, seriously now... I grew up in Chicago on the southwest side in Brighton Park. For anyone from Chicago, you know that's an important factor in the geography of ChiTown.. :)

My Mom sewed all the time, made us clothes, made clothes for my Barbie too. She taught me how to hand sew, embroider and use her old Singer machine.

Most of us neighbourhood girls belonged to Girl Scouts, from Brownies to Seniors and some of us were GS leaders as well. Geez, we had fun!! Between all the crafts we learned in Scouts and my Mom's influence, I grew to have a passion for creating things.

I suppose as with most hobbies, they grow and evolve over the years. Besides needlework, I dabbled in metal working/jewelry making, rubber stamping and paper making. I also learned to use a computer which fueled my creative fire and I had hours of fun playing with graphics in Photoshop and collecting fonts and dingbats.

After marrying my husband Des, I moved to Brisbane Australia in 1998. I continued with my hobbies and came to purchase a second hand Pfaff 7570 embroidery machine. Well, wasn't it love at first sight! Within months, I had purchased a digitizing program and was on my way...

Unfortunately, that pesky job I have to go to 5 days a week can really put a hamper on the leisure time. My paying job is a clinical nurse in a drug and alcohol treatment clinic. I do love my job and work with some fabulous people.

I probably spend too much of my off time at the sewing machine and computer, but heck, it's not like I'm getting into trouble or anything!!! :) My dear husband Des is doing his best to get me up and moving. I had a heart attack and bi-pass surgery in Jan 2006 at the tender age of 48, so that has impacted upon my life significantly.

I have 2 gorgeous children (ages 28 and 25) and the most wonderful grandson, who all live in Chicago, along with the rest of my family, five brothers and their families,and all my lifelong friends are there and I do miss them all very much. I try to get home as often as I can. We lost my Mom on Christmas Eve 2011 and I think of her everyday and miss her so very much...

I come from a very artistic/creative family. My Mom played piano and has a great talent for drawing, 2 brothers play kick butt guitar, one brother is an artist who studied at The Art Institute of Chicago, we all have been lucky enough to inherit a bit of that creative talent in our own ways.

My tastes tend to be a bit eclectic, ranging from art nouveau to prim/country to grunge to gothic to southwestern. But mt passion is for Indigenous Cultural Art from all over the world. You will probably notice that in my designs. I hope you enjoy them...
 
Thanks for reading.. =)
 
cindy...
xox